• Follow us on:

NPP to name new majority leaders after Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu's 'voluntary' resignation


3 months ago
Share on:

Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu has officially told President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo about his decision to resign as the majority leader in a crucial Wednesday night meeting at the seat of government.

His decision follows several media reports of his replacement which was not officially communicated to him by party leadership.

However, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu's move to voluntarily resign from his role with immediate effect is seen as an effort to restore harmony and direction within the NPP’s parliamentary faction. 

It is believed the New Patriotic Party's Chief Scribe, Justin Kodua has been authorised by the president in consultation with the National Council to the change of majority leadership.

The announcement is expected to bring clarity to the leadership structure of the majority group and set the stage for a new phase of governance in Parliament.

Deputy Majority Leader, Alexander Afenyo-Markin has been highly tipped to replace Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu.

source: Theannouncergh.com