• Follow us on:

NDC parliamentary ‘coup’: 48 NDC MPs sign petition demanding reinstatement of Haruna, Muntaka



1 years ago
Share on:

The opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) is facing wrath from its parliamentarians after a reshuffle of their leadership. 


About fifty Members of Parliament (MPs) have signed a petition calling on the party leadership to with immediate effect reverse the changes made to their leaders in parliament.

NDC announced through a letter to the Speaker of Parliament, changes to its three main leaders the persons of the Minority Leader, his deputy and the Minority Chief Whip.

MP for Buem, Kofi Adams has confirmed that he had seen the said petition from his fellow MPs which has already been signed 

Reports indicate that most of the signatories are members of the party's backbench.

The main change in the NDC frontbench is of Cassiel Ato Forson (Ajumako Enyan Essiam MP) replacing Haruna Iddrisu (Tamale South MP) as leader of the Minority Caucus. 

Other changes and retentions

Other changes included Emmanuel Armah-Kofi Buah, MP for Ellembele, who is the new deputy Minority Chief Whip.

While Kwame Governs Agbodza, MP for Adaklu, will replace Asawase MP Muntaka Mohammed as the Chief Whip.

Ahmed Ibrahim, MP for Banda, has been maintained as the First Deputy Minority Chief Whip, while Comfort Doyoe Cudjoe-Ghansah, MP for Ada, is also retained as the second deputy Minority Chief Whip.



source: Theannouncergh.com