• Follow us on:

NPP big wigs urge Volta delegates to vote for Akoto Afriyie


Akoto Afriyie and party delegates

6 month(s) ago
Share on:

Three Constituency Chairmen of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Volta Region have urged delegates in their respective constituencies to vote massively for Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto as Flagbearer to lead the party to victory in the 2024 election.

According to the Chairmen of the Keta, Anlo and Afadzato constituencies, they believe Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto's vision of using agriculture to turn around the fortunes of Ghana is the best the country could ever get.

They also believe that the immediate past Minister for Food and Agriculture has an impeccable track record in government, which makes him the best candidate by all standards to lead the NPP to retain power in the next election.

The Chairmen made the call on the delegates when Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto embarked on a campaign tour of the Volta Region to sell his vision for the party and Ghana at large should he be elected as Flagbearer and ultimately as President.

The Chairman of the Afadzato Constituency, Gershon Zuttah, was particularly happy with Dr. Afriyie Akoto's message and a clean campaign he's embarked on so far.

"I like his campaign; his message is strong and very good. His campaign is not attacking anyone but putting out a very sound vision to move Ghana to the next level using agriculture as the driving force. This is the kind of visionary leader that Ghana needs. I urge delegates not to make the mistake of voting for any candidate except Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto. He has a lot of good things to offer the country. Let's elect Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto to enable him to implement his excellent policies and programmes for Ghana."

For his part, the Chairman of the Anlo Constituency, Joseph Adranyi, said Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto's excellent performance while in government as the Head of the Agric Sector which is evident for all to see, makes him the perfect candidate to lead the NPP to victory come December 7, 2024 election.

"We believe Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto is the best candidate to lead our great party to break the 8-year governance cycle. The little we can do to support him is to vote massively for him to win the Flagbearer race. I urge you to vote for him come November 4, 2023. I believe Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto will remember us the people of Anlo constituency when we elect him as Flagbearer and subsequently as President of Ghana.”

The Chairman for the Keta Constituency, Dr. Benjamin Dzameshie also urged the delegates to vote massively for Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto, if indeed they want the NPP to break the 8-year governance cycle.

"Should the party repose confidence in you by electing you as the Flagbearer, I know you will take good care of the party. Party work needs to be attractive as pertains in South Africa and Mexico, to mention a few. We believe in your vision to lead the party to establish businesses to take care of party matters and members. I urged delegates not to look no further than Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto. Let's honour him on November 4, 2023, to become our presidential candidate to retain power beyond 2024."

A total of 10 aspirants contesting the flagbearer race have successfully gone through vetting and have gone ahead to the ballot for their positions on the ballot paper for the election.

They are a former Minister of Food and Agriculture, Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto, former Minister of Energy, Mr Boakye Agyarko; former NPP General Secretary and presidential spokesperson, Mr Kwabena Agyei Agyepong; former Member of Parliament (MP) for Mampong, Mr Francis Addai-Ni­moh; former Minister of Trade and Industry, Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku.

The rest are Vice President, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia; former Minis­ter of Trade and Industry, Mr Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen; former Min­ister of Justice and Attorney Gen­eral, Mr Joe Ghartey; energy expert, Mr Kwadwo Opoku and Member of Parliament for Assin Central, Mr Kennedy Ohene Agyapong.

A Special Delegates Congress will he held on August 26, 2023, to select five of the presidential aspirants.

The top five aspirants will then contest for the flagbearer slot on November 4, 2023, to elect one to lead the party in the 2024 general election.

source: Theannouncergh.com